close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Click here to start adding your content...

2022 Teen Summer Reading challenges can be completed May 22-July 23.

Join us for our World Games Finale Party on Wed, July 27 to celebrate our winners and award MORE winners!

There is a real World Games happening in Birmingham this summer! Click Here for more info. 

Click here to start adding your content...

Three Ways to Win Big!

Step 1:
Go to the Beanstack Website for access to the Teen Reading Challenge.
-If you've participated in an online reading program with O'Neal Library before then you already have a Beanstack account. Use your username and password to log in. If you don’t remember your information follow the links to reset your password OR get in touch with young adult librarians Matt Layne and Michelle Cheng at teens@oneallibrary.org for help.
-If you’ve never participated in summer reading at the O’Neal Library then create a new account.

Step 2:
Select the Challenges tab or click on the O'Neal Library logo in the upper left corner. 
Find "Teen Summer Reading 2022: World Games" and click on "Register for this Challenge."

Step 3:
Read a book that fits a badge! On the Activity Badge page enter your book’s information (title, author, and number of pages) AND the required response. The Activity Badge icon should change from gray to full color and appear under the “Earned Badges” tab.

Challenge Requirements: Books must be 100+ pages. Read a different book for each challenge. Challenges can be completed in any order. The Reading Challenge begins Sun, May 22 at 12:00AM and ends on Sat, July 23 at 11:59PM.

The grand prize reading winners will be announced at the World Games Finale Party on Wed, July 27 at 5PM!

Email our ONL teen librarians at teens@oneallibrary.org with your artwork before 11:59PM on Thu, June 30. It can be anything: painting, a song, a short story, film, cross-stitch, cake. If you created it, we want to see it!

We'll showcase all your projects in a gallery on the second floor of the O'Neal Library, so the community can appreciate your genius. Encourage your friends, family, to come in and vote for your creation. Plus random patrons and art critics can vote for their favorite art-piece (yours obviously!).

Winners of the Creativity Contest will be announced at our World Games Finale Party on Wed, July 27th at 5PM.

Got Questions?

Email ONL teen librarians Matt Layne and Michelle Cheng at teens@oneallibrary.org with questions about teen program(s), summer reading, or book recommendations! 

Participate

Mon, Dec 05, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Dec 07, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Mon, Dec 12, 10:00am - 5:00pm
O’Neal Library

Tue, Dec 13, 11:30am - 4:00pm
O’Neal Library

Wed, Dec 14, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Dec 14, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Dec 15, 10:00am - 5:00pm
O’Neal Library

Sat, Dec 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Dec 21, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 03, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jan 04, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Wed, Jan 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Sat, Jan 21, 11:00am - 1:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 23, 4:30pm - 7:00pm
O’Neal Library - Makerspace

Wed, Jan 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 26, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
O’Neal Library - Conference Room

Mon, Jan 30, 4:30pm - 7:00pm
O’Neal Library - Makerspace

Wed, Feb 01, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Sat, Feb 04, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Mon, Feb 06, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
O’Neal Library - Community Meeting Room

Mon, Feb 13, 4:30pm - 7:00pm
O’Neal Library - Makerspace

Mon, Feb 20, 4:30pm - 7:00pm
O’Neal Library - Makerspace

Thu, Feb 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
O’Neal Library - Makerspace

Stay Updated!

Click the icons below to follow the O'Neal Library on social media and email! You will receive updates on teen programs, resources, and YA book recommendations.

                                          

It's easy to get stuck in the routine of daily life. For this challenge we want you to step outside of your comfort zone and Challenge Yourself! Plus you can win prizes! Complete 20 of the 25 tasks in our 2022 Challenge Yourself Challenge to be entered in for a grand prize.

Registration is easy! Go to Beanstack, login or create an account, register for "Teen Challenge Yourself Challenge," and start completing activity badges.

Challenge Yourself Winners will be announced at our World Games Finale Party on Wed, July 27th at 5PM!